Slider

The South Dakota Stockgrowers Association is a grassroots organization whose individual producer members determine issues of importance to the state's livestock industry. With input into the policy development, each member has the opportunity to influence SDSGA's policy and priorities. Individual members of the Association pull together to make powerful decisions - dedicated to promoting the livestock industry and enhancing the opportunity for profitability.

SD Stockgrowers News

COOL Resolution Hoghoused

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN LABELING
HCR 1007, COOL, will be up on the Senate floor in an hour or so. This resolution was “Hoghoused” from the original resolution of asking Congress and The Trump Administration to implement COOL, which of course we supported and was passed the House last week.   Unfortunately, The Senate Ag Committee amended the resolution to state that South Dakota supports a voluntary COOL, which SDSGA has never supported. SDSGA feels this would make South Dakota’s statement and resolution weak and therefore weaken our long hard fight on COOL. Therefore we ask the legislature to kill this resolution and would encourage you to contact your Senators on this matter.

HUGE WIN FOR FAKE MEAT BILL!!

HORSE RACING, PROPERTY TAX ASSESSMENT,
COUNTRY OF ORIGIN LABELING, JBS PAYMENTS!!
This just in, the SD House of Representatives Unanimously passed SB 68, our fake meat bill! This bill already had tremendous success and passed the Senate and will now head to the Governor to become law! We anticipate her continued support and signature on this legislation!   This morning HB 1251 a bill to help fund horse racing in South Dakota unanimously passed the Senate Appropriations Committee and will now head to the floor of the Senate sometime soon. It passed in the House last week, and of course we will keep you updated on its status as information becomes available.   SB 4, the bill to begin piloting a new property tax assessment system will be heard tomorrow morning in the House Ag Committee at 7:45 am CST.   HCR 1007, a resolution supporting Country of Origin Labeling legislation at the federal level will be heard in the Senate Ag Committee tomorrow morning at 8:30 am CST. Also in the Senate Ag Committee tomorrow morning, SCR 12, a resolution petitioning congress and the USDA to halt payments to JBS Corporation, will be heard.     We need to keep the grass-roots emails coming in order to maintain strong support for each of these bills.  
House Ag Committee members include:
Thomas.Brunner@sdlegislature.gov   Roger.Chase@sdlegislature.gov   Caleb.Finck@sdlegislature.gov   Bob.Glanzer@sdlegislature.gov
John.Lake@sdlegislature.gov   Oren.Lesmeister@sdlegislature.gov
Steve.Livermont@sdlegislature.gov   Sam.Marty@sdlegislature.gov   Tina.Mulally@sdlegislature.gov   Herman.Otten@sdlegislature.gov
Kent.Peterson@sdlegislature.gov   Peri.Pourier@sdlegislature.gov  
Tony.Randolph@sdlegislature.gov    
Senate Ag Committee members include:  
Gary.Cammack@sdlegislature.gov   Rocky.Blare@sdlegislature.gov  
Bob.Ewing@sdlegislature.gov   RedDawn.Foster@sdlegislature.gov  
Troy.Heinert@sdlegislature.gov   Joshua.Klumb@sdlegislature.gov  
Ernie.Otten@sdlegislature.gov   Deb.Soholt@sdlegislature.gov  
Jordan.Youngberg@sdlegislature.gov