Sign Up for the Check Off Vote Petition


The South Dakota Stockgrowers Association is a grassroots organization whose individual producer members determine issues of importance to the state's livestock industry. With input into the policy development, each member has the opportunity to influence SDSGA's policy and priorities. Individual members of the Association pull together to make powerful decisions - dedicated to promoting the livestock industry and enhancing the opportunity for profitability.

SD Stockgrowers News

South Dakota Stockgrowers Wrap Up 129th Annual Convention and Trade Show!

The South Dakota Stockgrowers Association wrapped up another successful convention and trade show November 7th in Rapid City, SD. Some of this year’s highlights included the membership electing leaders for the organization. Scott Edoff of Hermosa, SD was re-elected President at the annual membership meeting. “I’m humbled by the confidence of our members to allow me to continue in this position,” stated Edoff. “I look forward to continuing to serve the SDSGA. I’ve learned a lot in my first year as president and look forward to putting that experience to work for our members,” continued Edoff. Vaughn Meyer of Reva, SD was also re-elected by the membership to serve as the Vice President of the Association. “Vaughn is an outspoken advocate of independent ranchers and
property rights,” Said Edoff. We are happy he is willing to continue to help lead the Stockgrowers.”
Other new leaders were also selected by their respective districts. Former State Representative Steve Livermont was elected as Region 3 Vice President while Brian Fox and George Kenzy were
elected to serve as directors from districts 2 and 14 respectively. “I look forward to working with these newly elected leaders,” said Executive Director James Halverson, “but I’d be remiss if I didn’t first thank those who are stepping down at this time. Liz May, Chance Davis, and Ty Littau have all been great advocates for our organization and our industry. I know they will all continue to be so in the future, and we thank them for their dedication and service” he added. Aside from electing new leadership, many other happenings highlighted the two-day event. At the annual awards and recognition banquet the SDSGA was proud to honor four outstanding individuals with Lifetime Achievement recognition. Jim Murphy, Mike Maher, Jim Reed, and Lyndell Petersen were all honored to standing applause. “I don’t know how anyone could listen
to, and about, these men without being in awe,” said Halverson. “Each of their lives are a testament and a shining example of what Stockgrowers and livestock producers everywhere should strive to be,” he added.
The two-day event was also full of presentations and panels of speakers from all areas of livestock production as well as some top policy makers making appearances. World renown professor and researcher Fred Provenza was one of the crowd favorites along with the expert
panel discussions. “The panels that we were able to assemble shed some real light on several issues including property rights and wildlife management,” said President Edoff “I think folks really enjoyed hearing from all of our speakers,” he continued. Halverson added, “I really appreciate the efforts of our elected officials to come and speak and
attend our convention. A special thanks to Lt. Governor Rhoden and Secretary Roberts as well as the teams from our Senators’ and Congressman’s offices for participating this year.” Other events such as the local pub crawl, the trade show, and the premier of Newscenter1
media group’s new series “Homegrown” were well-attended and obvious crowd favorites. “I think everybody had a great time at this convention. I also wanted to thank Ken and Janet with Wall Meats for providing the local beef for the events as well as all the rest of our partners and sponsors. We couldn’t do it without them,” added Edoff.

The South Dakota Stockgrowers Association is Proud Announce the Finalists for Their 2020 Photo Contest!

After over 100 submissions were anonymously judged by an independent committee, the SDSGA is proud to announce the finalists for their 2020 Photo Contest. Elsie Fortune, Roxie Fox, Markus Erk, Ben Wudke, and Candy Erk Manthey are this year’s finalists. The grand prize winner and runner-up will be announced at the Annual Awards and Recognition Banquet on Friday, Nov. 6.

“This was a tough contest to judge and I am very impressed with the overall submissions,” Said Jeremiah Murphy, one of this year’s judges. “There are many great photos here and some of these folks have a really good eye,” he added.

Adding to the list of finalists, the following photographers earned an Honorable Mention status: Katina Kolb, Jaimie Anderberg, Shane Kramme, Danika Gordon, Abby Finn, Acacia Anderberg, Tif Robertson, LaRonda Gough, and Doris Ekberg.

“I am blown away by the ability of our members and friends and how many great photos were submitted,” said SDSGA Executive Director James Halverson. “I can’t wait for people to see some of these photos. I am very excited to begin putting them in our magazine, at our convention, and on our social media pages. We know we live and work amongst the beautiful people, places, and critters in the world, and these submissions prove it,” he added.  Everyone is invited to attend the banquet to help honor these folks and find out who the grand prize winner will be! Many of the submissions will be on display throughout the convention.  The annual awards and recognition banquet will be held Friday Nov. 6 at the Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn in Rapid City, SD. The Social hour will begin at 5:30pm with the banquet to follow. To make plans and register call the SDSGA office at (605) 342-0429 or visit Walk-ins registrations are welcome the day of the event. Guests are encouraged to observe proper distancing, hygiene/sanitation, and other precautions. Hand sanitizer and masks will be available at registration.